Skip to content

Project 365 – Our Veterans

December 31, 2011

We have decided to take part in the 365 project for 2012, our topic is going to be our Veterans. We plan to honor a veteran a day, every day in 2012. We will be sharing their stories with you. We hope to also include lots of photos. We think it is very important to not only honor our veterans, but to shine a light on the reality of their every day lives. I hope that you will join us in this journey.

Tina & Jennifer

51 Comments leave one →
  1. TN Massage and Bodywork permalink
    January 21, 2012 9:45 pm

    Hey there! If you feature any veterans from the Memphis/Mid South area be sure to send them my way for a complimentary bodywork appointment! I will reciprocate that too if I encounter anyone interested in sharing their story!

    http://www.tnmassage.com or charlene@tnmassage.com

    Great project!

    • January 22, 2012 8:57 am

      Charlene I will absolutely send them your way, and thank you for offering such a wonderful service.

  2. January 20, 2012 6:36 am

    What a fantastic project. Ive been watching a fair few 365 projects but this one has blown me away. Its great to give these amazing individuals a voice and to give us the chance to hear their personal experiences. A big salute to you and to all of those sharing their stories.

    • January 20, 2012 8:45 am

      Thank you for visiting and for our kind words. We are so proud to be using this forum to honor or veterans, and grateful for those of you who are visiting, commenting and supporting the project.

  3. January 7, 2012 11:14 pm

    A very noble project. :)

  4. January 7, 2012 2:51 pm

    Thanks for reading my post, and thank you very much for your kind words. I Look forward to reading your 365 project.

    • January 7, 2012 3:54 pm

      Thanks Robert. I enjoyed your blog, you have a wonderful sense of humor. Thanks for stopping by.

  5. January 6, 2012 7:24 pm

    I got a message that yall were looking for vets to talk to or something. I was in Iraq. If you want to know anything, you can email me, but I respond to Facebook faster if you want to message me there. I also have tons of photos from over there on my FB.

    http://www.facebook.com/michaelleebennett

    • January 6, 2012 8:12 pm

      Thank you Michael I sent you a message through facebook.

  6. January 4, 2012 10:54 pm

    Awesome blog topic. And very ambitious! I am doing something much less wordy — http://www.6222syllables.wordpress.com (a Japanese-style haiku a day). I insanely thought editing myself to 17 syllables a day would be easy.

    You might be interested in a blog I did recently on a military wife’s experience at the post office, http://minnesotamornings.wordpress.com/2011/12/23/heavens-grace-extended.

    Good luck to you. Let’s hope we’re still here on Day 366 (because it is, after all, leap year!).

    • tshang permalink*
      January 4, 2012 11:21 pm

      Vicki thank you and I think that your topic is very ambitious I doubt I could write one. =)

  7. January 3, 2012 4:43 am

    You will have my full support. I just added you to my Blogroll as well. This is a wonderful project. And thanks for following my blog.

    • tshang permalink*
      January 3, 2012 5:03 am

      Thank you for adding us to your blogroll. I will add you to our first thing tomorrow. Thank you for the support it is appreciated.

  8. January 3, 2012 3:41 am

    That sounds like an excellent and worthy project. They give so much and then come home and some don’t always get the support… God bless them!

  9. January 2, 2012 4:54 pm

    I will by day’s add you to my blogroll. I support your project 100%.
    Bob A.
    Bob A.

    • tshang permalink*
      January 2, 2012 5:18 pm

      Bob Thank you for your support it is much appreciated. I will add your site to our blogroll as well.
      ~Tina

  10. January 2, 2012 1:31 pm

    What an awesome endeavor. I will post this link so vets know where to find you.

    • tshang permalink*
      January 2, 2012 2:17 pm

      Thank you very much, we would appreciate that. ~Tina

    • Jennifer permalink
      January 2, 2012 8:35 pm

      As Tina said, thank you!! :)

  11. January 2, 2012 12:21 pm

    Tina and Jennifer,

    THANK YOU for subscribing to my “punny” phtoblog!

    I am a Vietnam Vet. I was in the U.S. Navy on a destroyer shelling the Vietnam coastline when the war (officially) ended in 1973. We were sent home a month early. It’s hard to believe that it was almost 40 years ago!

    –John: TheDailyGraff.com

    • tshang permalink*
      January 2, 2012 2:09 pm

      Hi John. We think your photoblog is wonderful, you have a great sense of humor. Thank you for following our blog. If you would be interested in participating we would love to share your story on our blog. My husband’s father was a helicopter pilot in Vietnam, he was killed in action. It is hard to believe it has been 40+ years. Thank you for your comments. ~Tina

      • January 2, 2012 4:48 pm

        Tina,

        On the “About/Contact” page on my blog you will find my e-mail address. Send me your e-mail address so I can send you my story. –John

        • tshang permalink*
          January 2, 2012 5:18 pm

          Thank you John. Email coming your way. ~Tina

    • Jennifer permalink
      January 2, 2012 8:34 pm

      John,

      Thanks so much for participating! Tina and I both are passionate about our vets so you can bet our best will be put into this. Something’s gotta give somewhere and the first thing is awareness :) Loved your photoblog!

  12. January 2, 2012 11:32 am

    Hello; I am curious as to which posting motivated you to follow me. My “patriot posts” tab might be the best avenue for you. I note that the address elyse gave you is useless since Webb doesn’t respond to out of state requests. (I was following your “conversation”) I also note your pg is private. Mine is public because I do not provide personal info on the web; I have blogged about facebook and their privacy pitfalls. Some people who follow me are on facebook. After a brief experience, I “escaped” them, and will not make the same mistake twice. Their issues have gotten worse, not better the last few years!

    • tshang permalink*
      January 2, 2012 2:17 pm

      Your patriots posts, constitutional issues, and humor all interest me, actually I will likely read posts from all of your blog. I may not share your opinion on all of the issues, but I think it is important to acknowledge and try to understand other points of view. Thank you for the information about Webb. I don’t know what pg means sorry I am new to this blogging stuff. I am aware of the privacy pitfalls on facebook and prefer google plus but still use Facebook although I don’t blame you for choosing not to. Thank you for stopping by the blog. I appreciate the feedback.

  13. January 2, 2012 2:26 am

    Good luck!

  14. January 2, 2012 2:03 am

    Hi there. I just clicked on your site for the very first time — congratulations on it. It’s an important thing to be doing, and not many folks would have thought to do so.

    Have you let Senator JIm Webb know about it? If not, he can be contacted here: http://www.webb.senate.gov/contact.cfm Senator Webb is a Vet, and an author. He has done much for US Veterans.

    What a really neat thing you’re doing. Thanks for “following” me — that led me to you!

    • tshang permalink*
      January 2, 2012 2:18 am

      Thank you Elyse. I have not contacted the Senator or anyone yet. I wanted to get a few interviews up before I started promoting the site too much. I am working on a press release and have great hopes for doing good things with this project. I was supposed to interview a young lady for my first post tonight, but she had a personal emergency and we had to postpone. I am trying to get the word out now and line up some other interviews. If you know of anyone who would be interested in participating in this project please send them my way and thank you so much for your kind words and support they are greatly appreciated.

      Tina

      • January 2, 2012 2:21 am

        Hi Tina,
        I don’t, but actually, Senator Webb’s office can be a good start, too. They may be able to link up vets with you.
        I worked on Senator Webb’s senate campaign — and he is all about helping vets. His staff will be too!

        • tshang permalink*
          January 2, 2012 2:25 am

          Thank you Elyse I will definitely make contact with his office to see if they can offer any suggestions. I appreciate the information.

  15. January 2, 2012 1:35 am

    That is a great project

    • tshang permalink*
      January 2, 2012 2:02 am

      Thank you. I hope that we can do it justice. We will do our best to honor our heroes.

  16. January 2, 2012 1:14 am

    You have your work cut out for you. It is great that you will raise awareness of the struggles our vets go though and have gone through when they return from serving our country.

    • tshang permalink*
      January 2, 2012 1:28 am

      Thanks Angeline I know it is a huge responsibility but one that I am passionate about. I am the wife of a Marine, daughter of an Army Ranger and have many other family members who are currently or have served in the past. It is a subject that is near and dear to my heart and one that I believe needs more attention. I cannot think of a better way to raise awareness then to have these amazing men and women share their stories.

  17. January 2, 2012 12:32 am

    Look forward to reading the stories.

  18. David Navarre permalink
    January 1, 2012 5:37 pm

    Tina and Jennifer, looking forward to reading. If you wish to borrow any information from my blog, feel free. For international inspiration, check out this interesting story on a New Zealander’s blog appeared yesterday – a South African who served with the bloger’s father commented! http://dailyoxford.wordpress.com/2011/01/18/my-dad/

    • tshang permalink*
      January 1, 2012 6:27 pm

      Thank you Dave. I followed the link to the blog, thank you for sharing that it is so interesting. My husbands father served and was killed in action in Vietnam. I wish that I could find some of the men who served with him to talk to my husband who was only five at the time. I know that he would love to hear from them, but have no idea how to find them.

    • Jennifer permalink
      January 2, 2012 8:18 pm

      That is an awesome blog. Thanks so much for sharing! I’m very passionate about what our combat vets must deal with on a daily basis. I visited the VA with a veteran friend of mine and was saddened at how few WWII vets one saw there. Most were young, younger than myself (early 40′s) and some had their small children with them. It broke my heart to talk to some of these people and learn how inadequate the VA system is for our veterans. I hope to learn anything from anyone who can share knowledge. By the way, I especially enjoyed the pics! Thanks again!

  19. Severine lee permalink
    January 1, 2012 5:11 pm

    I look forward to reading your blog too. I am from the UK but born in France so your blog will give us a new insight on US vets!

    • tshang permalink*
      January 1, 2012 5:26 pm

      Severine thank you. I am not particularly proud of how our country treats its Veterans. I love my country, but like any place I suppose, there is always room for improvement. I am excited about taking this to an International level so that I can learn more about your Veterans and others across the globe. I think it will be very interesting to see how they differ and how they are the same. I think a lot of times we learn that we are a more alike than we may have thought. I am sure that there will be some similarities in their stories. The trauma and pain caused by the atrocities of war are Universal.
      Thank you for following our blog. I appreciate your comments and insights. ~Tina

  20. January 1, 2012 10:15 am

    Are you going to limit your posts to US veterans, or might you have a wider remit, to honour people throughout the world who have died trying to improve things and defend people in their own countries?

    • tshang permalink*
      January 1, 2012 4:23 pm

      Isobel I would love to include veterans from all over the world. I really want to show how veterans are treated when they return home. How serving affected them as individuals. That sort of thing. It would be interesting to get views of this from around the world. The difficult part would be interviewing and photographing the subject. I cannot travel around the world, but if people are willing to get someone to snap a few photographs and write down their stories, do a brief email via email or messenger, and/or a video to tell their story I think it is certainly something that can be accomplished. I think it would be really interesting to see how different countries treat their veterans. Here in the US we have many homeless veterans, and a lot of other problems that need to be addressed. This is one of the reasons for this blog was to raise awareness about those things. I really like the idea of broadening the scope to an international platform. I will just have to figure out how to find veterans from other countries to interview. =)Thanks for the question and for visiting my blog.

      • January 1, 2012 4:46 pm

        There is the same problem here with many ex-servicemen living rough.
        Maybe you could contact some charities. I expect they would be pleased to reach a wider audience.
        Also, there are organisations helping the children who have been forced to join armies in various countries.

        • tshang permalink*
          January 1, 2012 5:33 pm

          Isobel thank you for those ideas. I will have to do some research and some digging but I know that there are some amazing stories out there that need to be heard. I think most of us tend to put on blinders when it comes to things like war and the fall out that resulting from those wars. We hear about the casualties of wars in terms of numbers flashed across the screen, but we don’t hear about the other casualties, the men and women returning home who cannot find homes or work. Those who cannot readjust to society after spending months or years in a war zone. The families of those soldiers who return but are never the same. The children forced to fight, their innocence stolen from them. It breaks my heart to think about these things and I know that is why we try to pretend that they don’t exist, but they do and I hope that this blog will help to promote not only awareness about these issues, but also help those telling their stories to heal and to reconnect.

  21. January 1, 2012 6:28 am

    awesome

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 371 other followers

