Skip to content

Old Jarhead Poems – The Heart of a Marine – Repost from Marine Corps Web Log

January 16, 2012

Old Jarhead Poems

By Cpl. Beddoe On 2012/01/16 · 2 Comments · In MY BOOK REVIEWS, POEMS

I recently read “Old Jarhead Poems – The Heart of a Marine” by Robert A. Hall.

Old Jarhead Poems

In all my years of reading Marine Corps literature, never I have come across such a meaningful and reflective book of Marine poems. One or two I recognized from past editions of Leatherneck Magazine but most of the poems I had never read and Brother, how beautifully inspiring they were.

Anyone who has served in our beloved Corps would thoroughly enjoy reading the outstanding heartfelt words of Robert Hall, such as this one:

The Honor of Our Corps

When the beer, it flows like water,

And the talk, it turns to war,

Then we speak of absent comrades

And the Honor of our Corps.

Of the fights in distant places

And the friends who are no more,

Dying faithful to the nation

And the Honor of our Corps.

Though our bones are growing brittle

And our eyes are growing poor,

Still our hearts are young and valiant

For the Honor of our Corps.

Should the Eagle, Globe and Anchor

Call us to the field once more,

We would muster at the summons

For the Honor of our Corps.

When the years have told our story

And we close the final door,

We will pass to you for keeping

Bright the Honor of our Corps.

Will you take the awesome burden?

Will you face the fire of war?

Will you proudly bear the title

For the Honor of our Corps?

Copyright © Robert A. Hall, 2011

via Marine Corps Web Log.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. September 3, 2013 9:45 am

    First of all, I want to point out that dieting and exercises are best methods for fat loss.
    For a speedy withdrawal of fat, avoid all “white” carbohydrates such
    as bread, pasta, cereal and potatoes. Chilli and capsicum are the best foods
    for burning fat because they contain a compound in them called capsaicin and this is actually what experts add to weight loss
    pills as it kick starts your metabolism for major fat burning.

  2. August 16, 2013 6:13 am

    Attractive portion of content. I simply stumbled upon your website and in accession capital to assert
    that I get in fact enjoyed account your weblog posts.

    Anyway I’ll be subscribing to your feeds or even I success you get entry to consistently quickly.

  3. July 25, 2013 12:16 pm

    Fastidious answer back in return of this matter with genuine arguments and describing all regarding that.

  4. July 4, 2013 10:15 am

    Does your site have a contact page? I’m having a tough time locating it but, I’d like to shoot you an e-mail.

    I’ve got some ideas for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great website and I look forward to seeing it expand over time.

  5. June 26, 2013 11:15 pm

    Have you ever considered writing an ebook or guest authoring on other blogs?
    I have a blog based on the same ideas you discuss and would really like to have you share some stories/information.
    I know my subscribers would value your work. If you are even remotely interested, feel free
    to send me an e-mail.

  6. June 26, 2013 1:23 am

    Admiring the time and energy you put into your blog and detailed information you provide. It’s awesome to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same out of date rehashed information. Great read! I’ve saved your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  7. June 12, 2013 2:25 pm

    It is appropriate time to make a few plans for the long run and it’s time to be happy. I’ve read this publish and
    if I could I want to recommend you few attention-grabbing
    issues or advice. Maybe you could write subsequent articles referring to this article.
    I wish to read even more issues about it!

  8. David Navarre permalink
    February 12, 2013 4:22 pm

    Tina, I think that one’s a spam comment, with a script to insert the blog post subject after “read you comment on”, and the link to some website in the username spot.

  9. David Navarre permalink
    January 18, 2012 9:27 am

    Robert Hall, the Old Jarhead, also blogs – at http://tartanmarine.blogspot.com/

  10. January 16, 2012 2:16 pm

    Oh and if you want to buy the book, All author’s proceeds from “Old Jarhead Poems” are donated to “The Injured Marine Semper Fi Fund” to help wounded troops and their families, so buy your copy now! So please go through the link following the post above and order a copy.

  11. January 16, 2012 2:15 pm

    Please do visit Marine Corps Web Log. He has a ton of wonderful thing on his site. A mean a ton. Everything from poetry, to humor to stories. Really it is a fantastic blog that I enjoy visiting often.

  12. January 16, 2012 2:09 pm

    This is incredible … beautiful … moving and unfortunately tear producing. Thank you!

    • January 16, 2012 2:24 pm

      You’re welcome. I love poetry, I just wish I had been given the gift that you have been in your ability to write it. Instead I will just have to settle for enjoying the works of others. =)

Leave a Reply

