Skip to content

Military Active Duty and Veterans – What do you think of SOPA

January 18, 2012

SOPA Resistance Day!

Image by ~C4Chaos via Flickr

We want to know how you feel about SOPA and related attempts to limit internet freedoms.  Good? Bad?

Do you feel it infringes upon the rights that you risked your lives to protect?

Do you feel it serves the greater good?

We want to hear from you.

Please leave your responses in the comment section below or send as an email to 365vets at gmail.com

Thank you,

Tina

12 Comments leave one →
  1. January 22, 2012 11:54 am

    SOPA is, as others have noted, a piece in a larger mosaic of infringement of our rights. Ex Parte Milligan should’ve settled once and for all that the Constitution is always in force, everywhere, for so long as the courts continue to operate. Thus, our rights are not subject to proscription due to any so-called ’emergency.’ I often open my letters to my Congressional representatives with a statement that when I joined the Army, I took an oath, ‘registered in Heaven,’ to use Lincoln’s phrase, to uphold & defend, etc., and that they did, too. Would-be ‘laws’ like SOPA are flatly un-Constitutional and ought to never make it out of a committee chairman’s hopper, dying of the neglect that bad legislation deserves.

  2. January 20, 2012 12:50 am

    Totally against it!
    Where would we end up if the governments only allowed us to do what they think suits THEM best?! 😦

    Freedom!

    • January 20, 2012 8:42 am

      I agree that it is a slippery slope, as the saying goes. I am rarely for anything that limits freedom. I also don’t think that this is going to prevent piracy, people will always find a away around these things. It is similar to gun control in that it only prevents law abiding citizens from obtaining weapons, it does nothing to stop criminals from getting a gun. There are black markets for everything. I wonder how the artist who are pushing for this legislation are going to feel once its passed, and bites them in the butt later on down the road when they become the censored.

      Hollywood should remember the ugly time in history when blacklisting was happening in their neck of the woods.

  3. January 19, 2012 9:08 pm

    Hi Tina and Jennifer,

    My first viewing of your blog today, and I gotta’ say, I’m impressed with the direction you are taking. Vets deserve far more than any of us can do to repay their service. This blog is a great way to help…

    SOPA/PIPA, as they stand today, are horrible acts of legislation. Their intent is good, to prohibit the infringement of your right to copyright, patent and trademark your own work. However, intent is lost in the way they intend to implement the law.

    I’m sure you’ve seen the news today about how MegaUpload.com was taken offline by the Department of Justice. The legislation has not been passed as of yet, but the Fed took their action based on existing copyright law.

    I do not think this bill will directly impact my own right to speak, create, author, think, or anything else. However, it may heavily impact my ability to exercise those rights in the way I want by taking down any specific site that I might post to… I do not pirate. But if I am writing on a site that allows piracy, and the Fed nails that site, of course there is no way I’d be able to say what I want in that forum. But I can still say what I want… Understand?

    The legislation is bad… But legislation has a keen ability to be re-written in ways that might make it work. I SUPPORT the idea of putting a crimp in piracy… I do NOT support the way the law is currently written.

    That is all… Strickland out!

    • January 19, 2012 9:33 pm

      Hi Tim. Welcome to our little spot in the blogosphere. Thank you for your kind words about our project we are proud of what we are doing here, and hope to accomplish much more. We appreciate you taking the time to stop by and visit or blog, and for sharing your opinion on SOPA.

  4. January 19, 2012 1:15 pm

    The government doesn’t control the net & it’s driving ’em crazy. That’s why we’ve seen Net Neutrality, SOPA, PIPA, etc. Anything that both Hollywood and the Feds are for, I’m against on general principle.

    • January 19, 2012 9:33 pm

      Thank you for sharing your opinion Bob. We appreciate everyone’s support and participation.

  5. January 19, 2012 10:46 am

    Having used the “internet” many years before the public knew what an internet was, I think I know a little bit about it. As for this law, I know a little bit about it too. Having stated my disclaimers, I have the following to contribute.

    Due to the anti-terror legislation that was passed in the wake of 9/11, and subsequent Executive Orders, no American can expect privacy on any type of communications device. All of these devices are monitored, one way or the other. No privacy can be expected anywhere, especially on the devices we use to communicate. Furthermore, Congress has given the President the authority to use the Armed Forces to arrest American citizens, for any suspected terrorists activity, and hold arrested American citizens indefinitely, without access to the courts. To me, this law has the largest threat for abuse, by a President, to detain American citizens on a whim. Since the Executive will have no Legislative Branch to answer to, an American President could round up protesters, lable them terrorists, and hold them incommunicado. This law was passed, and signed, with barely a whisper from the press, and hardly any disent in Congress.

    Regarding the piracy, and copyright laws, the current legislation will basically expand what we already do here in the US into a global effort. All Congress is doing is proposing we not allow an offshore entity to transmit, into the US, that which a US entity is blocked from transmitting. If people do not like it, demand a revision in patent, and copyright laws; furthermore, lay the portion of blame on those who are demanding action, in the first place: The music, and film industry.

    I may be wrong, and I may be right, most likely I am somewhere in the middle. 😉

    armyveteran

    • January 19, 2012 9:34 pm

      Thank you for sharing your opinion, we really appreciate everyone taking the time to participate.

  6. January 19, 2012 9:31 am

    Bad thing. All about control.

    • January 19, 2012 9:34 pm

      Thank you for speaking up and sharing your thoughts on SOPA.

  7. January 18, 2012 9:49 pm

    I’m against SOPA. The good ole’ boys just keep trying to put their hands in everything. They say its all about online piracy and copyright laws, etc, and their intentions, (or what they say are their intentions) are in the right spirit, but the bill goes way above and beyond what anyone would ever expect. It would pretty much let them control the internet.

Leave a Reply

