Skip to content

The Hidden Legacy of World War II: A Daughter’s Journey of Discovery

January 27, 2012

I thought this was an interesting perspective. We do not always consider all of the lives that are changed and touched by the war, but we should.

The Hidden Legacy of World War II: A Daughter’s Journey of Discovery

Children, fathers and war — words not often used together. In The Hidden Legacy of World War II: A Daughter’s Journey of Discovery, Carol Schultz Vento weaves life with her paratrooper father into the larger narrative of World War II and the homecoming of the Greatest Generation.

82nd Airborne paratrooper Arthur ‘Dutch’ Schultz’s battle experiences have been presented to America both in film in the acclaimed D-Day movie, The Longest Day, and in a multitude of war history books, including those by Stephen Ambrose. The Hidden Legacy presents an expanded view of the reality of Dutch’s war in Europe by utilizing archival history of noted authors who interviewed him.

This nonfiction work also illuminates a part of post World War II life that has seldom been acknowledged — how the war trauma of the combat veteran impacted his children. While this is a personal story of one combat veteran and his family, the book presents well researched material documenting the prevalence of psychiatric trauma in World War II veterans, and describes how lobotomy and shock therapy were common treatments in VA hospitals during the nineteen forties and fifties.

The Greatest Generation narrative has seldom included the unheralded battles waged by many veterans to regain normalcy. This account demonstrates the persistence of combat trauma, even in veterans of the “Good War” who returned home victorious. The Hidden Legacy of World War II is relevant to issues America faces today with the homecoming of another generation scarred by combat.

You can get Carol’s Book on Amazon

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Raven of Leyla permalink
    January 30, 2012 12:37 pm

    Hello my new friend,
    I want to take the time to say I am liking what you are doing here so I thought I would spread a little sunshine your way 🙂
    I have nominated you for the Sunshine Award You may pick it up here
    http://ravenofleyla.wordpress.com/2012/01/30/sunshine-awardplease-look-for-your-name/
    hope you have a great week
    smiles,
    Rx

  2. Raven permalink
    January 27, 2012 3:20 pm

    I am having some difficulty taking this in. And I have placed her book upon my Amazon Wishlist. My first statement is related to the synchronicity of this article. The last seven years have let up to this moment as I prepare to write a memoir that is inspired by my mothers two extraordinary WWII scrapbooks that detail her life as she worked for the OWI (Office of War Information) in London during the Blitz. I also have my father’s scrapbook titled The Army Air Corps … although he actually served within the Mighty 8th Army Air Force. He also served in England, France and Germany.

    tshang, the following article might interest you as it expresses my journey that lead me to my love for our Veterans of War.

    http://ravenpress.wordpress.com/2012/01/23/august-2005-part-one/

  3. January 27, 2012 1:40 pm

    Been overwhelmed and haven’t kept up as of late. Thanks,
    Bob A.

    • January 27, 2012 1:48 pm

      Bob perfectly understandable, and thank you for your continued support. I totally relate to the overwhelmed feeling, just started classes for the Spring semester here so I am a little behind on things myself. =)

  4. January 27, 2012 1:39 pm

    Reblogged this on Boudica BPI Weblog.

Leave a Reply

