Skip to content

Hope, Versatility, and Liebster.. Oh My !

January 16, 2012

I apologize for taking this long to respond to the gracious bloggers who took their time to honor us with these beautiful awards. We are so grateful to you for your support and thoughtfulness.

Thank you Connie over at ahopefortoday.com for the beautiful and thoughtful HUG (Hope Unites Globally) award.  We are so humbled to receive this award and already have a few people in mind to pass it on.

We were nominated for this award by three special bloggers Susan Writes Precise,  A Year with Horses, and 30 Years of Growing Pains . I am not sure this blog could be considered versatile, the topic is narrow, but the people and stories certainly are not. I thank you all for this recognition, to be nominated for awards this early on in the blogging game is truly remarkable. I thank you for your very kind words about this project, and for your continued support. We have learned very quickly that bloggers are a tight knit, supportive community. We are thrilled to be part of it.

Forgive me if I mess up this process, but will do my best.

The Rules: 

1. Thank the award-giver and link back to them in your post. I have done so in the opening paragraph. Thank you both again. =)

2. Share 7 things about yourself.

  • I am married to a DevilDog (not longer enlisted, but once a Marine, always a Marine)
  • My father was an Army Ranger during the Korean War. He never spoke of it to me.
  • I am a 40 year old full time college student. I love to learn, have a passion for knowledge and will be a student for life.
  • I have five children ages 3, 5, 11, 17, and 21 and three grandchildren ages 4, 2, and 5 months (yes it is kind of strange I know).
  • I have always related better to men than women. (possibly due to growing up with four brothers, and now raising four sons).
  • I have learned more from my children than they will ever learn from me.
  • I love art and poetry. I envy those who possess these talents. I don’t understand people who have those talents, but choose not to use them.

3. Pass this award along to 15 or 20.

  1. Marine Corps Web Log – You could spend days on this blog and never get bored with the content. This is a military themed blog run by a Marine. The variety and volume of content is staggering. Corporal Beddoe has done an outstanding job with this blog that includes everything from Poetry and Humor to Memorial posts, to Personal Opinion Pieces.
  2. Warrior Poet Wisdom – Talk about versatility, this blog tackles a variety of topics. Wise, Thought provoking, and perhaps most impressive, always in the form of poetry.
  3. The Daily Graff – John’s story was the first featured here. I stumbled across his blog and his story by chance, but call him friend by choice. I find his photoblog delightfully random. I love that I never know what I am going to see when I open the page, and can almost always be sure that I will leave chuckling.
  4. Pure Complex – Kays blog is unique, and well I think she does the best job of describing it so I will just quote her. ” my blog is ALL ABOUT Artistic Culture (yes, I started a whole new genre for my blog. I’ve been known to do that lol). So many artistic things catch my eye, so you’ll always see me posting something unique, creative, humorous, and inspirational. Art can be a form of anything (Photography, Paintings, Food, Movies, Architecture, Sculptures, etc.) and I plan to celebrate it as much as I can. So enjoy the curated experience I call Artistic Culture.”  This blog is full of beautiful images, and I really enjoy her writing style. The ladies will love this blog, and I am betting the men will find a thing or two there as well.
  5. Mirth and Motivation – This is a motivational blog that is a little different from most of the others that I have run across. I love the cultural diversity, openness, and absolute love and acceptance for others expressed in this blog. If you are having a bad day and need a little pick me up visit Elizabeth over at Mirth and Motivation.
  6. Original Apple Junkie – This is a personal blog with random posts about what is happening in her life at the time. This young lady is funny and genuine. I enjoy reading her posts and admire her enthusiasm for life, her work ethic, and positive outlook.
  7. Craft Handed – This is one of those people I mentioned before, you know the artistic ones that I envy. This beautiful woman is multi-talented. She does all kinds of wonderful crafts, she sculpts, and she paints, just to name a few. I love visiting her blog just to see the wonderful photos of her latest projects.
  8. Mass Casualties – A young veteran currently working on his degree in creative writing. I enjoy his writing style and his blog is very eclectic everything from military and health news, to self improvement articles.
  9. Raven’s Press – Amazing, beautiful poetry. I love poetry.
  10. Views and Mews by Coffee Kat – Another blogger with a knack for writing, she says writing had been on her bucket list for years, and I say I am so happy that she decided to mark it off her list by blogging. =)
I know it says 15 -20, and I will try to add more later.

4. Contact your chosen bloggers to let them know about the award. – Done =)

Thank you Warrior Poet Wisdom for this award, for your support, and for just for being your beautiful self. I am honored to receive this award and appreciate that you have taken the time to nominate us. I know that these awards really help promote our blogs and give the little fish in a big pond some much appreciated recognition. Thank you.

The guidelines for the Liebster Blog Award:

1. Show your thanks to the blogger who gave you the award by linking back to them.
2. Reveal your top 5 picks for the award and let them know by leaving a comment on their blog.
3. Post the award on your blog.
4. Bask in the love from the most supportive people on the blogsphere – other bloggers.
5. And, best of all – have fun and spread the karma.

My five picks for this award are:

  1. Restless Joe –  While roaming at home and abroad she shares some beautiful photography and wonderful posts. I have never had an opportunity to travel, so I adore travel blogs. I get to live vicariously through these lovely people. =)
  2. Aurora Moreslist – Personal blog with some amazing writing. I can, and have gotten lost in her writing for hours.
  3. Its My Opinion – Pure opinion and I love that he is so open in his writing. I may not always agree with his opinions, but I always enjoy reading them. =)
  4. The Human Picture – This is one of the first blogs that I started following and still one of my favorites. The gentleman writing this blog is an exceptional writer, photographer and human being.
  5. Topicless Bar – With a name like that how could you not love this blog? Just trust me, check it out.

If you have awarded me an award and it does not appear here, please leave me a message in the comments so that we can claim the prize and properly thank you.

Thank you all again. We feel truly blessed.

Tina & Jennifer

30 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2012 10:42 am

    Congrats on the well-deserved honors.

  2. January 18, 2012 5:12 pm

    Congratulations on your award! it is well deserved. I enjoy coming here to read on your latest posting efforts. Keep up the great job and Thank You for including my blog on your list. 🙂

  3. originalapplejunkie permalink
    January 18, 2012 1:15 pm

    Hey Tina!
    Congratulations on the award! I’m CRAZY happy that you got nominated..because your blog educates and heals people every single day..You deserve this!
    Then I see that you nominated ME for the award..and I don’t know why?! My blog is just random ramblings, thoughts and feelings..lol..more like an outlet..versatile..I’m not sure..*he he*
    I’m trying to figure out now where I go from here..but I am assuming that I have to do the same thing you did in your post above? Maybe?
    The funny thing is I read about the Versatile Blogger Award just the other day..and it really confused me..so if you could shed some light on the subject..I’d absolutely adore you more than I already do! *if you can’t explain..I know you’re busy..is there a link I can read?*
    And thank you SOOO much for your lovely words..I enjoy writing..and this is one of my outlets to do more so..aside from my poetry..so again thank you for the lovely words..sometimes I forget people are listening..but it’s nice to remember they are 🙂 *hugs*

  4. January 17, 2012 1:16 pm

    Thank you so kindly for honouring me with the award! Although I have received this award previously, I promise to share the love as soon as I possibly can. See you soon 🙂

    • January 17, 2012 1:42 pm

      No worries about passing it on hon. Just wanted you to know how much I enjoy your blog.

  5. January 17, 2012 7:06 am

    Thank you for mentioning my blog :-). I think your blog is important and deserves recognition.

  6. Warrior Poet Wisdom permalink
    January 17, 2012 6:40 am

    Thanks so much for the nomination and kind words, glad you’re enjoying my writes.
    Peace & grace,
    ~Miro

    • January 17, 2012 6:57 am

      Thank you Miro I very much enjoy your writing. Thank you for sharing it with us.

  7. January 17, 2012 4:34 am

    I am giving you an award as well. It is the Candle Lighter Award and I created it in December. The info, rules and badge are here.http://believeanyway.wordpress.com/2011/12/18/creation-of-new-blog-award-the-candle-lighter-award/ It is for blogs/bloggers that light up the world. you are not required to pass it on, but can if you wish. If you do, include the link I gave you. Regardless, go ahead and put the badge on your blog. If you need info on how to do that, you will find a link if you go here. http://believeanyway.wordpress.com/badges-and-awards/

    I was going to give you the Versatile Blogger Award, too—but I see numerous folks already did that!! Bless your blog and work—kate

    • January 17, 2012 6:56 am

      Thank you Kate. I will get this up this afternoon. What a lovely award. =)

  8. January 17, 2012 1:42 am

    You truly deserve the awards 😉

  9. January 17, 2012 1:42 am

    Tina, congratulations on all the nominations and awards you are receiving, but I’m not surprised, your blog deals with a subject that is far more noteworthy and important than a lot of other blogs, any of mine for instance. Nevertheless thank you for nominating my arts blog in turn, and for your lovely words about it when you explain which blogs you have chosen. I am honoured, just a little perplexed, and now look forward to the pleasant task of picking my favourite writers in my turn!

    • January 17, 2012 6:56 am

      You’re welcome. Thank you for your kindness, and have fun picking your favorite blogs. Its not an easy task. =)

  10. January 17, 2012 1:21 am

    Congratulations, very well deserved 🙂 You do have four more awards waiting on my site, if you chose to accept them 😉

    ( I posted this a while back and it probably got lost in translation or something 😉 http://30yearsofgrowingpains.wordpress.com/2012/01/12/everyones-a-winner/ Awards being: 1) Kreativ Blogger Award 2) Tell me about yourself award 3) Awesome blogger award 4) 7×7 Link Award)

    With the exception of the 7×7 Link Award (where you chose your 7 favorite posts to link back to) all the other follow the same rules of divulging information about yourself and passing it on.

    Please do not worry about an acceptance post for this or anything – I just feel the need and the want to give back to you.

    All that you are doing here is wonderful and I’m so glad you are receiving the recognition you deserve – Thank you!

    🙂 K.

    • January 17, 2012 6:54 am

      Thank you. I will get these up today, and will post my responses. =) I remember seeing this, I went back through the comments because I knew that were a few others but could not find them. Thank you for reposting it here.

  11. January 17, 2012 1:17 am

    First of all, let me congratulate you on your awards. This is also an opportunity for me to express my respect for your project to honor servicemen and veterans. Even though I am not a citizen of your country, I think there is something universal about what you are doing, and I appreciate that. I wish to thank you too for the kindness of offering me this award. As embarrassing as it is for me, I’ve made it my policy through life, not to accept any award or special credit for what I do. I am very grateful to be living this life, and to meet with people in many different frameworks. Every person I meet is special in his or her own way. Much of what we are is the product of past experiences, luck and heredity. My greatest reward in life is that I have had some very fine teachers. And in addition to that, I’ve also had the great luck of enjoying all the work I’ve done in life. Now, in my old age, it is my pleasure to meet good people on the internet, and to be read by people I’ve not even had the honor of meeting. Because of all of this, I do not accept awards or prizes. Please excuse me.

    • January 17, 2012 6:52 am

      ShimonZ there is no obligation to accept, post or pass on the awards. =) I understand your policy and have noticed that other bloggers do not accept awards either. It is enough for me just to know that you are aware of the admiration I have for your work. Thank you for your kind words.

  12. January 17, 2012 12:43 am

    I just have to tell you.. thank you, thank you, thank you. I am sincerely humbled by your wonderful words about my blog and I am honored to receive this award from you. I would like to also congratulate you on your awards as well. You definitely deserve them.. this is such a beautiful and wonderful blog :).

  13. January 16, 2012 10:22 pm

    John thank you. I really enjoy your photoblog and your sense of humor. =)

    We were really tickled to receive the awards, even though I still feel clueless about how all of it works, I hope that I did it right. I always worry about not really knowing blogger etiquette yet. I am learning as fast I can and just trying to keep my head above water in the mean time. =)

    Tina

  14. January 16, 2012 10:14 pm

    Thank you for nominating my “punny” photoblog for The Versatile Blogger Award and for your kind words! That you have been nominated for 2 different awards by 4 different bloggers only about 2 weeks after “launch” is (1) unheard of and (2) probably a record in the blogosphere!

    It shows that your desire to honor veterans has made an immediate connection with people who want to honoryou for the great service you are doing for vets. With the big splash you have already made, I know your blog will have continued success.

    John Robinson: TheDailyGraff.com

  15. January 16, 2012 10:10 pm

    I am laughing hysterically. I read my emails, one at a time. I see that you a get an award. I come to congratulate you, go home to read my next email and it is an award from you! You are so sweet thank you! I feel a bit dopey.

    • January 16, 2012 10:19 pm

      lol Raven =) Congrats I really love your blog/poetry.

  16. January 16, 2012 10:07 pm

    Congratulations you definitely deserve this!

  17. January 16, 2012 9:43 pm

    This was a very nice post. I enjoyed reading your blog today very much.

    Love to write?

    Join Us Today – Writers Wanted

Leave a comment